Minnesota Grocers Association Foundation Awards $94,500 in Scholarships

The Minnesota Grocers Association Foundation (MGAF) awarded $37,500 in scholarships to employees or their dependents from Minnesota Grocers Association (MGA) member companies for the 2022-2023 school year. This program helps students who are related to Minnesota’s food industry by supporting their educational growth.

Using funds raised from an annual golf event and silent auction, the MGAF is able to award scholarships and community grants. This year, the MGA Foundation received 190 applications from 44 companies. The 25 $1,500 scholarships awarded represent the Minnesota food industry’s strong commitment to its workforce. Since its inception, the Foundation has awarded over one million dollars in scholarships.

Scholarships are awarded by an impartial committee of educators and based on community involvement and academic achievements.

The 2022 MGAF Scholarship Winners are

Savva Archakov / Lunds & Byerlys Ava Barrett / S & R Quisberg, Inc. Haley Beukema / Cub Foods Melanie Boyer / Hy-Vee, Inc. Tanner Campos / Hugo’s Family Marketplace Samantha Erickson / ALDI, Inc. Alexa Gordner / Jerry’s Enterprises, Inc. Elijah Graner / Dicks Fresh Market Andrew Hoiness / Rushford Foods Sarah James / Roadside Market Jasmine King / KC’s Country Market Maggie Marcolina / Cub Foods Chase Nelson / Jerry’s Enterprises, Inc. Claire Nelson / Kowalski’s Companies, Inc. Kristen O’Brien / Coborn’s Inc.

Kyla Oelkers / Hy-Vee,Inc. Caitlin O’Rourke / Lunds & Byerlys Arthur Perron / Kowalski’s Companies, Inc. Peter Schik / Lunds & Byerlys Aaron Soderholm / SpartanNash Jenna Standing / Hy-Vee, Inc. Morgan Sylvester / Haug Companies Martha Weinrich / Lake City Fresh Market Connery Wiecks / Miner’s, Inc.

Emma Winters / Cub Foods

• This year the Piggyback Scholarship Program was available for members of the MGA, allowing companies to “piggyback” on the MGAF application process in order to provide a scholarship program specifically for their employees and employees’ dependents. Ten companies participated and awarded a combined $57,000 in scholarships to 58 students.

Chris’ Food Center: Josey Olson, Cassidee Thorvig. Cub Foods: Andrew Fossum, Benjamin Jasinski, Tyler Peterson, Caleb Reames, Samantha Youngquist.

Fareway Family Scholarship: Taylor Haberman, Paige Roiger.

Jerry’s Enterprises, Inc.: Andrew Blilie, Avery Constant, Skyler Dargis, Megan Erickson, Alexa Gordner, Kurt Haugen, Kyle Haugen, Angelina Jaramilo-Rangel, Amelia Jutz.

Pearl & George Teal Scholarship: Cierra Karels, Michael Krueger, McKenna Miska, Chase Nelson, Olivia Rotz, Brooke Schultz, Andrea Eisenschenk, Lily Reed, Makaila Solheid, Jacob Urbach, Elsie Weinrich.

Jim Kowalski Education Award: Ellie Ackland, Drew Bigelbach, Ernest Mattson, Claire Nelson, Anna Perron, Arthur Perron, Riley Philippi, Kathleen Piepkron, Josef Richter, Britte Ryden, Tiffany Stevens, Emma Zimmer.

KEMPS: Bryan Alvarez, Brady Johnson, Lilli Sisler, Taylor Tedford, Jacob Wilson, Alexis Zuehlke.

Mackenthun’s Fine Foods Scholarship: Paige Madden, Ella Swanson.

Miner’s, Inc. Achievement Scholarship: Katelynn Aho, Gracie Davis, Merlea Mrozik, Emerson Roseen, Holland Venhuizen.

S & R Quisberg, Inc.: Ava Barrett, Orion Flicker, Nicholas Granberry.

About the Minnesota Grocers Association Foundation

The Minnesota Grocers Association Foundation was established in 1992 to offer educational opportunities to the food industry, provide scholarships to employees of member companies or their children, and support community efforts and initiatives through grants. It has supported many notable programs and has awarded over 1 million dollars in scholarships since its inception.

June 22, 2022